Should we completely blame for the media?

It’s 10.30pm when I start writing this blog post. I know that sounds crazy but I got a long-term illness and it’s called “procrastination” (and I’m trying to fix it). I should have begun writing this few days ago but every time I sat down and open the laptop, the first thing I do is …checking Facebook, then YouTube then I immerse myself in pointless things. I always remind myself all the time that I only have 5 more minutes to relax but my “5 minutes” always become “50 minutes”. Okay, that’s enough for talking nonsense about myself. But that is a proof of how media affects to humans.

Back to the main topic, current anxieties about the “effects” of the media on people’s lives, I’d like to mention an issue that may attract the attention of many parents, moral issue.

This is what we usually see on the TV, on the Internet:

T-600-terminator-unit

Blade

The media has a huge impact on teenagers thinking and behavior. They copy what they saw without consideration. Jack Evans, a 17-year-old boy called 911 to report having killed his mother and younger sister. This happened after he watched a movie named “Halloween”.

He said: “While watching it I was amazed at how at ease the boy was during the murders and how little remorse he had afterword [sic]. I was thinking to myself it would be the same for me when I kill someone”

The anxiety about moral issue also includes the bad images of idols. Parents afraid that their kids will be debauched by idols. And this is why they worry, because these girls are no more a perfect role models for their kids:

8138135_spl700849_004_666ngoan4

And they start shifting the blame on these girls. But they forget that these girls are just teenagers and they are productions of the media industry. They are just like other teenagers, they make mistake and they stand up. Nobody’s perfect. It’s parents’ possibility to teach their kids what are right and what are wrong, what to learn and what not to learn. Raising a child is their job, not Britney Spears or Miley Cyrus. How kids become afterward depends on the way they are educated. I remember I have read somewhere that after the Bangerz Tour, there were a lot of mothers and fathers accused Miley Cyrus of ruining the pure soul of their kids, even though they had been warned that the show is 18+.

However, there’s an undeniable fact that it’s partially the media’s fault. But it’s us to choose our personality. The media just do what they have to do and need to do. The river has to keep flowing. So I think instead of blaming, people should spent time to do helpful things like sit down and listen to their children, pay more attention to them because I don’t want to hear about another Jack Evans in the future.

(source: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2013/01/25/jake-evans-confession_n_2552173.html)

Leave a Reply

