Will we ever be able to raise our voice?

I know I’m very busy right now, as I have 5 more projects to run till the end of this month, but I’ve just got this news, and I feel I can no longer keep quiet.

screen-shot-2016-10-11-at-9-38-16-pm

Link for article is here

So, this is the story. For the last few years, Nguyen Ngoc Nhu Quynh (nickname: Mother Mushroom) has been protesting for human rights in Vietnam. The latest case, which is also the one that is used for prosecuting, is the protest against Formosa. All the materials found at her house will be used as evidence for her crime. These materials include banners, posters, photos, etc written “Formosa Get Out”, “Prosecute Formosa”,…

Talking about Formosa, it was a disaster, a nightmare for the whole population of Vietnam. Throughout its manufacturing process, it’s been pouring out toxic industrial waste directly to the ocean without any step of purification. It wasn’t until this April that the scandal was bring into light, when a large number of dead fish were found on the coast of Ha Tinh and three other provinces (Quang Binh, Quang Tri and Thua Thien Hue).

So, back to the point, she was arrested due to Article 88 of the Penal Code for using social media, including blogspot and Facebook, to make, fabricate, circulate documents with content against the state. Whilst, it can be seen that she was just fighting for her right to live in fresh environment and to freely express what she thinks.

Though I know I’m pushing myself into trouble, and probably, will be arrested when I come back to my country, but I wonder, if they are trying to deprive our right to live without pollution and our freedom, freedom of speech and freedom of expression.

Follow hashtag #freeMeNam and #freeNguyenNgocNhuQuynh on Facebook for updates.

Leave a Reply

